Willing the Willow Warbler’s return

Yesterday was cold, grey and damp, but in spite of that, our Willow Warbler returned.

Back on last year’s territory, it sang from high in one of the large ash trees at the allotments. Today was still chilly, but bright and sunny, and I took this recording.

The song is Chiffchaff-like for a moment at around 26 seconds in. You can also hear Song Thrush, Woodpigeon, Rook and (I think) a brief snatch of Dunnock.

As regular readers will know, I’ve been willing the warbler to return – last year was the first in the time that I’ve lived in Firle that one has stayed for the summer. So this is a particularly welcome arrival in 2012.

In croakier voice, at about 10am today a pair of Ravens flew over as I put the washing out – the first, I think, I’ve ever seen from the garden.

Also present, a Great Tit that does quite a neat three-note impression of a Green Sandpiper – this has stopped me in my tracks a few times over the last couple of weeks, and now I know who the culprit is.

Leave a Reply

